Virtual Azerbaijan (tricolor banner)

Welcome to Virtual Azerbaijan Republic (VAR),, one of the oldest and respected web-sources on Azerbaijan, since 1995.


Capital Baku (population approximately 2 million)
Main Cities Ganja, Sumgait, Naxcivan, Khankendi, Yevlakh, Mingachevir, Ali-Bayramli, Sheki, Shusha, Quba, Lenkaran, Qabala.
Area 86,600 sq. km (approx. the size of the State of Maine)
Climate Azerbaijan has 9 of the world's 13 climatic zones, from Alpine meadows to subtropics. The climate in Baku is dry and subtropical, of a Mediterranean type. The average annual rainfall is between 110 and 250 mm, and falls mainly in the early spring and late autumn. The temperature in winter is 3-5 degrees C and in Summer reaches 30 degrees C or more and occasionally as high as 40-45 degrees C.
National currency Manat(AZM) (1 USD ~= 4,930 AZM)
Real GDP (2003) USD 6.0 billion (USD 30 billion PPP adjusted)
Population 8.3 million (2004 est)
Facts for the Traveler Visas: Visas are required. Time: GMT/UTC + 4 hours
Electricity: 220 volts, 50 Hz. Weights & measures: Metric 
Political System
Statehood type Republic
National day May 28, 1918 (Democratic Republic of Azerbaijan)
Independence act October 18, 1991 (Republic of Azerbaijan from USSR)
Fundamental law Constitution of the Republic of Azerbaijan
Executive branch President, Prime Minister, Cabinet of Ministers
Legislative branch Unicameral National Aseembly (Milli Majlis)
Judicial branch Supreme and Constitutional Court

    The first independent republic of Azerbaijan was proclaimed on May 28, 1918, and two years later fell to Russian Bolsheviks. Subsequently Azerbaijan Soviet Socialist Republic was established on April 28, 1920, which joined the USSR upon its inception in December 1922. Republic of Azerbaijan seceeded from the USSR on August 30, 1991, and the parliament of Azerbaijan adopted the official Declaration of Independence on October 18, 1991.
    Azerbaijan is a constitutional republic with broad presidential powers. President is elected by popular vote for a 5-year term, and any one person can be elected only twice. President appoints the Prime Minister to head the Cabinet of Ministers. Both PM and the Cabinet are approved by the parliament. Milli Majlis, the parliament of Azerbaijan, is a 125-seat unicameral legislative body, whose members are elected by popular vote for a 5-year term.


The Best of VAR: Quick Links

Major Links & Resources


History & Research


Karabakh (Qarabagh)




Habarlar-L (HL)

HABARLAR-L (HL) Caspian Daily News Service

Reference & Misc

  • Education
  • Travel
  • Music
  • Culture



Media & Internet

  • Newsgroups
  • Download

List of famous people from Azerbaijan


"The actions taken by the government of Armenia in the context of the conflict over Nagorno - Karabakh are inconsistent with the territorial integrity and national sovereignty principles of the Helsinki Final Act. Armenia supports Nagorno - Karabakh separatists in Azerbaijan both militarily and financially. Nagorno - Karabakh forces, assisted by units of the Armenian armed forces, currently occupy the Nagorno - Karabakh region and surrounding areas in Azerbaijan. This violation and the restoration of peace between Armenia and Azerbaijan have been taken up by the OSCE."

William J. Clinton
Then President of the United States of America

"Armenia supports ethnic Armenian secessionists in Nagorno-Karabakh and militarily occupies almost one-fifth of Azerbaijan." Source: CIA World Factbook, 2002.
Map of Azerbaijan, showing Armenian-occupied territories and oil pipelines in the region

English to Azeri Online Dictionary
(type English word in & hit ENTER)

Search Virtual Azerbaijan For:

All contents copyright © 1995 - 2004 by Adil Baguirov, unless otherwise noted.
All Rights Reserved.